TruScreen has non-executive Directors with a mix of skills and experience appropriate to the company’s business. The directors are Messrs Robert Hunter, Christopher Horn,  Professor Ronald Jones, Christopher Lawrence, and Marie Ficarra.

Robert Hunter

Chairman (Chair of Remuneration and Nomination Committee)
Appointed November 2013

Robert Hunter is the chairman of TruScreen. He has been a significant investor in the TruScreen intellectual property and business operations over a 20-year period and has invaluable knowledge of TruScreen’s commercial operations.

Robert has 35 years’ business experience and is currently the principal of a Chartered Accounting and Corporate Advisory Practice based in Sydney. He has past experience as a Director and Chairman of numerous public and private companies involved in a broad range of business activities including property, financial services, retailing, telecommunications, biotechnology and funds management.  Robert has held honorary roles in a number of charitable, educational and sporting organisations.  He is a Commerce graduate and Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.

Christopher Horn

Independent Director, (Chair of Audit, Finance and Risk Committee)
Appointed November 2013

Chris Horn has been involved with TruScreen for a number of years. He is an experienced business executive and has acted in a number of management roles including 20 years as a partner of KPMG and its predecessor firms. He is a director of a number of private companies across a broad range of business activities including corporate advisory, financial services, and funds management.

Chris is a Commerce graduate from the University of New South Wales and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.

Professor Ronald William Jones CNZM

Independent Director (Member of Audit Finance and Risk Committee, and Medical Advisory Committee Member)
Appointed October 2017

Professor Ron Jones is a trained obstetrician and gynaecologist and was a former clinical professor at the University of Auckland. He is a widely published international authority of lower genital tract pre-cancer and cancer and past president of the International Society for the Study of Vulvovaginal Disease and chair of the Scientific Committee of the International Federation of Cervical Pathology and Colposcopy.

Prof. Jones has been involved with the TruScreen technology since the very beginning and was the Principal Investigator for a 1998 study at National Women’s Hospital in Auckland, one of the key clinics used to gather early data for what was then the Cervical PolarProbe (and has now evolved into TruScreen).

Chris Lawrence

Non-executive Director
Appointed December 2017

Chris Lawrence is a successful New Zealand businessman and a significant investor in life science and biotechnology businesses including TruScreen. He has spent a substantial part of his career in small business where he has had proven success in leading market place disruption, and translating new business models into sustainable profitable businesses. In the latter part of his career, he has dedicated a large share of his time to governance and advisory roles.

Most recently Chris’ focus has been on high growth companies, with a particular focus on the biotech industry.

Marie Ficarra

Independent Director
Appointed June 2018

Marie Ficarra is an experienced healthcare executive and a passionate advocate for cervical cancer screening programmes. She has specialised in the sales and marketing of pharmaceutical products and medical diagnostics, primarily related to cervical cancer, and along with her husband, has devoted the last three years to helping establish the Australian Gynaecological Cancer Foundation. In addition, Ms Ficarra has held a senior advisory role to Merck Sharp and Dohme (Australia) for the introduction and reimbursement of pharmaceuticals including; the cervical cancer vaccine and served on NSW Parliamentary Committees into Health and Medical Research.

Marie is a Science graduate with Honors from the University of Sydney, Australia.